Arrival at Kopan

After dropping me off, the taxi driver insisted I give him a Euro tip, I told him he was unbelievable, & instead gave him a 35 Rs tip which I was then told I shouldn’t have done as it was entirely pre-paid. The monk at Kopan reception confirmed my room & checked me in just as the rain started pouring down. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of my room; mind you, I did book a deluxe room with aircon & bathroom. The room overlooks the Kathmandu Valley, is surrounded by trees with birds singing, & is near enough to the main Gompa that 3-4 times a day I hear the monks chanting prayers with their symbols & trumpets. And I can vaguely hear noises from life down in the valley, particularly some kind of Hindu celebration going on.

So, I’ve got 7 nights here, wished I’d booked longer as the 8 nights in Thamel definitely won’t be as peaceful. The food isn’t anything to write home about, but it’s veg & sustainable, & I’m finding the simplicity of it quite pleasant. I figure it’s a great time to do some further enquiry on the personal insights that have been coming up over the past few weeks. There’s a library on hand, & a 10am daily meditation practice & Dharma talk which will help the process of going deeper. I took advantage of the offer from the teacher to discuss my practice & the insights & issues that were rising to the surface, & was pleased to learn it’s all normal & progressing (i.e. I’m not going mad). And, with plenty of time on my hands now, I’m immersing myself in Dharma books.

One response to “Arrival at Kopan

  1. Was well pleased to read the following in your blog Michelle. Looks and sounds like a wonderful – if challenging – experience….travel safe…With love Edna

    ” I took advantage of the offer from the teacher to discuss my practice & the insights & issues that were rising to the surface, & was pleased to learn it’s all normal & progressing (i.e. I’m not going mad). “

Leave a Reply

