He’s Here! H.H. Dalai Lama Arrives in Leh

His Holiness the Dalai Lama has arrived in Leh. My initial reason for travelling to Leh 10 days before the commencement of my Photography Expedition was to see if I could attend the teachings of the Dalai Lama here in Leh which, according to his website, were meant to be held mid-July.  But his schedule kept changing, & the hope of attending some of his teachings slipped away.

Although he arrived on the 18th, unfortunately, I haven’t even seen him as he’s staying in a monastery about 9 miles out of town. But he will be here in Leh again on the 4th August for 4 days teaching (Tsongkhapa), which I will sadly miss as I fly out on the 5th, though I may be lucky & catch him for even 1 day. Word on the street has it that every Tibetan Buddhist practitioner will be heading to the teachings – sure to be a very crowded venue.

While having dinner at the hotel the other night, I overheard a UK ‘World Challenge’ group (around 15 late teen youngsters) speaking about how they would arrange to meet with the Dalai Lama & give him some “white scarves” – “I hope he can see us in the morning that day, cause we’ll be busy in the afternoon” – sounded quite hilarious, but the joke may be on me if they have been granted an audience with him! Good luck to them.

Leave a Reply

