Where am I off to?

Where am I off to this trip?

I was a bit stuck for options…knowing I’ll probably be heading off to Europe at year end, I thought a semi-local option may be ideal. Looked into Vietnam, Burma, Cambodia, Bhutan, Bali…even tried out Tibet as an option, but China is now enforcing a limit – a minimum 5 people must travel there from the same country of origin! Problem was, the dreaded monsoon period is spread right across Asia in July/August.

Then I happened upon Ladakh…..misses out on the monsoon because it’s a (really high) mountain desert. It’s called ‘Little Tibet’ as it’s a Tibetan Buddhist region…..& the Dalai Lama will even be travelling there when I’m there (bonus).

To add a little spice & madness, Kathmandu was in the region, so why not add a few weeks in there too. Nepal was the first country I ever visited at the tender age of 18, so it will be great to check out the changes from a not-so-tender-anymore-age perspective.

I heard the Chilli Crab in Singapore is to die for, so a few days there were added on to whet my culinary appetite. May also need to re-Westernise myself before my return (e.g. cut off any newly cultivated dreads, bin hippy paraphernalia, stop any repetitive chanting of mantras, etc).

So I hope you enjoy the blog. Here’s a snapshot of my itinerary:

13 Jul 12: Fly Sydney > Delhi (via Singapore)

14 Jul: Fly Delhi > Leh (Ladakh, India)

14 – 22 Jul: Personal time in & around Leh

23 Jul – 5 Aug: Ladakh Photography Expedition – Wild Photography Holidays

5 Aug: Fly Leh > Delhi > Kathmandu

5-12 Aug: Kopan Monastery – near Boudhanath, Kathmandu – om………

12-20 Aug: Thamel, Kathmandu

20 Aug: Fly Kathmandu > Singapore

20-23 Aug: Stay Studio M (bit of luxury) on the Riverside, Singapore

23-24 Aug: Fly Singapore > Sydney

Home sweet home!

2 responses to “Where am I off to?

  1. Chilli crab at East Coast seafood Singapore. Worth checking it out. Enjoy & Travel safe. With love Edna.

Leave a Reply

